Frequently Asked Questions
Student account payments, payment plans and cashiering
- When is my payment due?
- What happens if I don't pay my account on time?
If your account is unpaid after the payment deadline it will be subject to late fee assessment and your student account will be put on hold. You may be unable to view grades, add or drop courses and order transcripts until your account has been paid in full.
Accounts over 180 days old are subject to reporting to a collections agency. Being sent to collections can negatively effect credit and increase your repayment costs through collection fees. If you have a delinquent account, your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD) may be garnished under Alaska Statute 14.40.251 and Alaska Statute 43.23.073.
- What can I do if I don't have the money to pay?
- How can I avoid late fees?
The best way to avoid late fees is to have payment arrangements well before the payment deadline.
This means making sure all necessary paperwork is submitted to financial aid in a timely fashion, informing scholarship donors of the payment deadline or setting up a payment plan to cover any outstanding balance.
- Can I use Federal Financial Aid (Title IV) to pay a balance I owe from a prior year?
- How do I drop/withdraw my class even if I have a hold on my account?
Students can drop/withdraw from classes with a hold on their account by:
- submitting an Add/Drop Form, which can be found at www.uaa.alaska.edu/records/registrarforms.cfm
- or by using the online Student-Initiated Drop Form.
A 100 percent refund of tuition and fees is automatically processed when official drop activity is completed before the add/drop deadline. No refund is issued after the deadline.
After the add/drop deadline, students may withdraw from classes up until the semester withdrawal deadline as long as no grade has been assigned for the class. Students may withdraw from full-semester classes using the drop procedures listed above
- I paid my balance in full with a check/webcheck, why do I still have a hold on my
UAA will wait 7-10 days to make sure that the check payment has been cleared prior to lifting the AR hold. A copy of bank statement showing that the payment is posted and has sufficient funding can be submitted if you want the hold to be taken off immediately.
- I am a parent of a UA Student, how can I make a payment on their behalf?
- A student may set up an authorized users through the Student Account Center, set up takes minutes!
- An authorized user may also be set up to make payments through the Cashier's office by filing an Authorization to Release Education Record Information. This form must be returned to the Office of the Registrar at the One Stop Kiosk located in the University Center or to the Cashier's window. Once on file, the authorized user may pay at the Cashiering window.
- I have a hold on my account, how can I get that lifted?
- Can I make payments on my account by credit/debit card?
- Yes. Credit/debit card payments are accepted exclusively online via the UAOnline portal or TMS Student Account Center and include a non-refundable service fee—2.85% of the payment amount ($3 minimum fee).
- Payment Kiosks are available at UAA Cashiering for online bill payment at 3901 Old Seward Hwy, Anchorage, AK 99503.
- Also, you may pay without a fee by using a WebCheck.
- What credit/debit cards can I use to pay my account?
- American Express
- Other less-common cards accepted include: Diners Club, JCB, and China Union.
Reminder: credit/debit card payments are only accepted online via UAOnline or the TMS Student Account Center and include a non-refundable service fee—2.85% of the payment amount ($3 minimum fee).
You may pay without a fee by using a WebCheck.
- Is there a fee for using a credit/debit card to pay my account?
- Beginning June 1, 2016, card users will be assessed a separate, non-refundable service fee—2.85% of the payment amount ($3 minimum fee)—at the time of each credit/debit card payment for student account.
- The non-refundable service fee will be assessed by a secure 3rd party and will appear as a separate charge on your credit/debit card statement.
- You may pay without a fee by using a WebCheck.
- Why can't I see the service fee charge on my UA student account? The service fee is assessed by a secure 3rd party, not UAA, so it will not appear on your student account. The service fee will appear as a separate charge on your credit/debit card statement.
- Is the service fee refundable?The 2.85% service fee is non-refundable. Any service fee disputes must be taken directly to your credit/debit card company.
- How can I pay my student account and avoid the service fee?
- Web Check (ACH) payments from checking and savings accounts will continue to be accepted online by UAA via the ACH (Automated Clearing House) Network without a service fee through the UAOnline Pay Portal and the TMS Student Account Center. Here is a How-To document to find your Routing and Account information.
- UAA will continue to accept payments via cash, money order, or check at our offices in the University Center. Please do not send cash through the mail.
- Will UAA accept credit/debit card payments for non-student account charges?UAA will continue to accept credit/debit card payments without a service fee for non-student account payments, donations, athletic tickets, accounts receivable payments, alumni events, etc.
- Will I be able to schedule a payment on my payment plan with a credit/debit card?
Yes. Credit/debit cards can be used to schedule a payment for a UAA Pay Plan installment within the TMS Student Account Center. These payments will include a non-refundable service fee—2.85% of the payment amount ($3 minimum fee).
You may pay without a fee by using a WebCheck.
- Is there any way I can avoid paying the service fee?
Payments by cash, check, or money order can be made in person at the University Center, or by mail at UAA Cashiering, PO BOX 141609, Anchorage, AK 99514-1609.
- I have never written a check, how can I set up a WebCheck?WebCheck payments are a secure, effortless method to pay your student account, and more importantly, it is FREE. Here is a How-To document to find your Routing and Account information.
- Can I make a credit/debit card payment over the phone?
No. Credit/debit card payments for tuition, fees, and other charges related to academic courses cannot be made over the phone or via mail. This is a security measure to ensure confidentiality of your payment information.
- I often receive checks from my credit card company. Can I use the routing number and
account number on those checks to make a WebCheck payment?
No. The credit card company will not honor these checks used electronically.
The payment will be returned as "account not found", returned items (NSF) are subject to $30 fee.
You may use these checks by mail or in person only. Mail to: UAA Cashiering, PO BOX 141609, Anchorage, AK 99514-1609.
- If I make a credit/debit card payment in error, will my service fee be refunded?
No. The service fee is not refundable even if the payment to which it relates is canceled, refunded, credited, or charged back.
- Does the service fee apply for payments made for: flight time, transcripts, testing
fees or admission fees?
No. These changes are only on the student account payments as described above and will NOT affect any other transactions on our campuses where credit/debit cards are accepted. However, if you defer the named charge to your student account, then attempt to pay that charge online, the fee would apply for credit/debit card payments.
- If I receive a refund from my student account, and I originally paid my charges with
a credit/debit card, will the service fee be refunded?No. The service fee is not refundable even if the payment to which it relates is canceled, refunded, credited, or charged back.
- Does the service fee apply to UAA Department Touchnet Marketplace merchants?
No. The service fee is only applicable to student account payments.
- Does the service fee apply to UAA departments for card-present transactions? (i.e.
Bookstore, coffee shops, or ticket office)No. The service fee is only applicable to student account payments.
Student Account Refunds and Financial Aid Disbursements
Where did my check get mailed?
Your check got mailed to your mailing address (MA). You can view or change this address at UAOnline.
How do I know if I'm signed up for direct deposit?
You can view or change your direct deposit information at UAOnline:
--->Student Services and Account Information
--->Direct Deposit Services
to view existing direct deposit setup:
--->View your direct deposit setup
or to make changes:
--->Change your direct deposit accountAny changes to direct deposit become effective the following business day
or to establish direct deposit:
--->First time set up of direct deposit
Can I pick up my check?
Due to the high volume of refunds that are processed through our office, we do not allow students to pick up checks. In addition, not having a valid mailing address is not a valid reason to pick up a check. If you would like to receive your refund quicker, please sign up for direct deposit as they take priority to printed checks.
If you are already signed up for direct deposit, canceling your direct deposit to have a check printed will not allow for a faster refund.
I think my check got lost in the mail, what should I do?
If it has been more than 10 business days, you may request a stop pay by contacting the Disbursements office. An $18.50 fee applies to all stop pay requests and a check will be re-issued. To avoid lost and returned checks, please sign up for direct deposit at UAOnline to have your refunds put directly into your bank account.
How do I return loan money that has been disbursed to me?
You can return loan money within 14 days of disbursement. Please file a loan revision request form with financial aid. Any refund received can be returned through the Cashier's office either by returning your un-cashed check or by cash, or by personal check if you received direct deposit. Any balance resulting from a return of loan monies is due by the payment deadline.
Why didn't my financial aid pay for my parking decal, library fines, book fines, orientation
charges, late fees or health center charges?
Federal student financial aid can only cover "institutional charges" as defined by the U.S. Department of Education. This definition includes current year charges for tuition, fees and on-campus room and board. Unless authorization is received, federal financial aid (Title IV) cannot be used to cover non-institutional charges such as: housing damages, parking permits, parking fines, library fine, returned check fees, health center charges, late fees or any charges not directly tied to taking a class.
You may submit a Title IV Authorization form to have these charges paid for by your federal financial aid. A maximum amount of $200 per aid year can be applied to a prior year debt. If you owe more than $200 in a past aid year, please contact Collections to arrange payment.
My refund got sent to the wrong bank account, or the credit card I paid with is closed.
What should I do?
The disbursements office is typically notified 5-7 business days after initiation of a direct deposit if it has been rejected. Rejection of a direct deposit will prompt a paper check to print. Please make sure your mailing address is up to date.
If you paid with credit/debit card, your refund will be credited back to your account. If that account is closed, your bank will re-route your refund to your new card or issue you a refund. Please contact your bank or credit card company for more information regarding the status of your refund.
The full refund policy is available in the catalog.
What is Title IV?
Title IV is the section of the Higher Education Act of 1965 that regulates the administration of the U.S. federal student financial aid programs. Title IV refers to federal Direct Subsidized and Unsubsidized Loans, TEACH grants, Direct PLUS Loans, Pell Grants, SEOG and Federal Work-Study funding.
- I am expecting a private donor scholarship, how do I know when it has arrived to UAA?
Once the check arrives to UAA, it will be logged into our paperless repository. The award will then funnel through the Financial Aid office, then to the disbursements office for application to the student account.
Due to the manual nature of these awards, processing time can take up to 10 business days from the arrival of the check to UAA.
Because many have enrollment requirements; these awards will post to your account after the add/drop deadline.
To ensure timely payment, please refer to your donor's requirements. Advise your donors of the UAA instructions on our website.
- I am sponsored by an outside UA entity, how will I know when the payment is posted
for that sponsorship?
Once UAA has received the proper authorization from the outside entity/agency, the charges that are authorized should clear off of your account.
We process daily, however, during the high peak times, it may take 5-7 business days to see those charges paid on your account.
- If you change your schedule after the original authorization was processed, please let our offices know so we can review and adjust your student account as needed.
- If the agency does not cover all the costs/charges on your student account, you will be responsible for paying the remaining amounts by the payment deadline or your account will be subject to late fees and holds preventing future registration.
- Authorization must be received prior to the payment deadline to avoid late fees.
- I am Post 9/11 GI Bill recipient, how does it work?
- Start out by making contact with the VA Educational Benefits page to start the certification process.
- Once the certification is made and after the add/drop deadline, the University will submit a payment request to the VA on your behalf.
- Any fees or tuition above and beyond what the VA certifies is the students responsibility to pay by the UAA Payment Deadline.
- Generally speaking, your student account will be in a deferred state up to the amount covered by the VA.
- What is reported on the Form 1098-T?
In previous years, your 1098-T included a figure in Box 2 that represented the qualified tuition and related expenses (QTRE) we billed to your student account for the calendar (tax) year. Due to a change to institutional reporting requirements under federal law, beginning with tax year 2018, we will report in Box 1 the amount of QTRE you paid during the year.
Depending on your income (or your family’s income, if you are a dependent), whether you were considered full or half-time enrolled, and the amount of your qualified educational expenses for the year, you may be eligible for a federal education tax credit. (You can find detailed information about claiming education tax credits in IRS Publication 970, page 9.)
The dollar amounts reported on your Form 1098-T may assist you in completing IRS Form 8863 – the form used for calculating the education tax credits that a taxpayer may claim as part of your tax return.
The University of Alaska Anchorage is unable to provide you with individual tax advice; if you have questions, you should seek the counsel of an informed tax preparer or professional.
Important Note: 1098-T statements are for informational purposes only and in no way suggest that you are eligible for a tax credit. Please speak with a tax professional or consult the IRS website for more information about whether you qualify for a tax credit.
- Am I eligible to receive a Form 1098-T?You are eligible to receive a 1098-T if you incurred qualified charges during the past calendar year that were not reported on the previous year's 1098-T statement.
- When will i receive my Form 1098-T?
By Federal law, all forms must be postmarked by January 31st of each year. You may also access your 1098-T electronically through UAOnline:
- Log in with your UA credentials
- Select Student Services and Account Information
- Select Student Account
From the Student Account page, you may select the tax year, sign up for electronic delivery of your 1098-T, and view or print your 1098-T.
- What should I do if I need more information on the Form 1098-T?