Kodiak College staff and faculty honored with NISOD Excellence Awards

by Michelle Saport  |   

Congratulations to the following Kodiak College staff and faculty who have been selected to receive the 2014 NISOD Excellence Award, the most coveted award among community and technical college educators.

  • Barbara Bolson, director of Kodiak College
  • Nancy Castro, receptionist for Student Services
  • Heather Corriere, assistant professor and department chair for Computer Information and Office Systems
  • Bobbie Farfalla-Ivanoff, faculty assistant
  • Jai Nan Fialla, tutor for The Learning Center and Adult Basic Education
  • Kathrynn Hollis-Buchanan, assistant professor and department chair for General Business and Accounting
  • Jennifer Pedersen, registrar

The Excellence Awards Program recognizes and honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to their institutions. Receiving a NISOD Excellence Award is a distinct honor demonstrating a college recognizes and appreciates the dedication and contributions of its staff and faculty.

"Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges' mission is something we look forward to doing each year," said Edward Leach, NISOD's Director. "The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We're honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements."

Excellence Award recipients will be celebrated during NISOD's annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, May 25-28, in Austin, Tex. Award recipients will receive their medallions at the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration, featuring keynote speaker Isa Adney, author of Community College Success. Honorees will also be featured in the Excellence Awards booklet, conference program and YouTube series, as well as at kiosks stationed throughout the Austin Convention Center during the conference.

Creative Commons License "Kodiak College staff and faculty honored with NISOD Excellence Awards" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
March Archive