UAA announces 2014 Alumni of Distinction recipients

by Michelle Saport  |   


The University of Alaska Anchorage Office of Alumni Relations and the UAA Alumni Association are excited to announce the recipients of the 2014 Alumni of Distinction awards. These three distinguished UAA alumni will be honored for their outstanding contributions to their chosen fields and community at the 5th annual Green & Gold Gala on Saturday, Sept. 27, at the Alaska Airlines Center on UAA's campus.

  • TED TRUEBLOOD -- Alumni of Achievement Award M.S. Civil Engineering '80 President, Tryck Nyman Hayes Inc. (Retired) Past president, UAA Alumni Association
  • CRISTY HICKEL -- Alumni Humanitarian Award B.Ed. Physical Education '86, M.S. Interdisciplinary Studies '89 Program Director, SPYDER (Sports Programs for Youth Development, Education & Recreation) Member, Seawolf Athlete Alumni Chapter
  • VIRGINIA GROESCHEL - Alumni Emerging Leader Award B.S. Civil Engineering '06Aviation Design Engineer, State of Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities President, College of Engineering Alumni Chapter

The Green & Gold Gala, an annual black-tie evening with green and gold flair, brings UAA alumni and friends together to celebrate alumni achievements and university successes, and raises funds for student scholarships. This year's Gala will be the first formal event in the city's newest event space, the Alaska Airlines Center.

The inaugural Green & Gold Gala in 2010 raised nearly $30,000 in scholarship support for UAA students. Last year's event raised over $100,000.

UAA alumni and community members are invited to attend this year's Gala and further the support for scholarships. The event includes a champagne reception beginning at 6 p.m., followed by a dinner, awards program and live auction at 7 p.m.

Sponsorships and tickets for the Green & Gold Gala are now available and moving fast. Book a table online or call the Alumni Center at (907) 786-1942 to reserve your seat today. For more information, visit the Alumni Relations website.

Creative Commons License "UAA announces 2014 Alumni of Distinction recipients" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.