Announcing the 2015 UAA Technology Fellows cohort

by Michelle Saport  |   

UAA Academic Innovations & eLearning is pleased to announce the 2015 Technology Fellows cohort:

  • Angela Craft, term assistant professor, UAA Medical Laboratory Science
  • Ammie Tremblay, assistant professor, UAA School of Nursing
  • Donna Aguiniga, assistant professor, UAA School of Social Work
  • Heather Nice, instructional designer, UAA School of Nursing
  • Lorelei Sterling, assistant professor, distance education librarian, UAA/APU Consortium Library
  • Naomi Everett, assistant professor, UAA Career and Technical College, Culinary Arts
  • Philippe Amstislavski, Ph.D., associate professor of public health, UAA Department of Health Sciences
  • Rhonda Johnson, Dr.PH, professor of public health, UAA Department of Health Sciences
  • Toby Long, assistant professor of chemistry, Kenai Peninsula College
  • Travis Hedwig, Ph.D., assistant professor, UAA Department of Health Sciences
  • Veronica Howard, Ph.D., assistant professor, UAA College of Arts & Sciences, Psychology

Congratulations to you all! We are excited to work with this new group of Tech Fellows-please help us welcome them to the community.

The Technology Fellows program was built to encourage and foster student achievement through the use of technology-engaged learning with faculty and staff at UAA. While the central purpose of the Technology Fellows program is on course redesign, each year we select a specific focus to encourage faculty to continually build and expand new skills, interests and abilities. In the two-year program, year one is educational and focused on course design/redesign in online environments. In year two, the fellows become mentors in the community.

The 2015 Tech Fellows cohort will focus on the use of Open Educational Resources (OER). OER are materials that once created remain in the public domain to be freely used without cost or restrictions. When used in education, OER materials can significantly reduce both the cost of education and amount of work required when designing a course.

Learn more at

Creative Commons License "Announcing the 2015 UAA Technology Fellows cohort" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
April Archive