Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Public Communications earns full accreditation

by Michelle Saport  |   

The UAA Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Public Communications has been fully re-accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC).

The accrediting council made its decision at its early May meeting. ACEJMC accredits 119 journalism and mass communications schools in the United States and outside the country. The council conducts voluntary reviews for institutions with professional journalism and mass communications programs.

UAA's Journalism and Public Communications program has approximately 125 majors. Graduates of the program are employed across the state and the country as communications directors, journalists, filmmakers, videographers, public information officers and other communications professionals. The program is home to the prestigious Atwood Chair of Journalism, currently held by independent journalist Julia O'Malley. The University of Alaska Board of Regents established the Public Communications program in 1976. However, the department dates its official founding from 1980, when the department became part of the College of Arts and Sciences, and the name was changed to Journalism and Public Communications. The program was first accredited in 1990.

Creative Commons License "Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Public Communications earns full accreditation" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
May Archive