Seawolf Hall of Fame induction Sunday

by Michelle Saport  |   

University of Alaska Anchorage Athletic Director Keith Hackett announced Sept. 1 that former student-athletes Kemmy Burgess (men's basketball), Mandy Kaempf (women's skiing/cross country/track & field) and Kamie Jo (Massey) James (women's basketball/cross country/track & field), along with longtime supporters Tom and Vicki Packer, have been selected as the newest members of the Seawolf Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2016 will be inducted in a public ceremony at the Alaska Airlines Center on Sunday, Oct. 9 at 1 p.m.

"This is an incredibly accomplished and deserving group of inductees," Hackett said. "The Seawolf Hall of Fame committee did an outstanding job of identifying this year's honorees, and we are extremely excited to welcome everyone back to campus this fall."

Nominations for the 2016 class were accepted through May 1. Former UAA student-athletes and teams are eligible for nomination 10 years following their last competition at UAA. Former UAA coaches and staff members are eligible five years following their university service. Volunteer contributors may be nominated at any time.

Seawolf Hall of Fame inductees are chosen by an athletic director-appointed committee consisting of UAA Athletics staff, coaches, boosters, volunteers and faculty members.

For a look at the accomplishments of the Seawolf Hall of Fame Class of '16, visit

Creative Commons License "Seawolf Hall of Fame induction Sunday" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
October Archive