UAA congratulates 2017 Alaska Literary Awardees and Connie Boochever Fellows

by Michelle Saport  |   

The Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation, in partnership with the Alaska State Council on the Arts, recently announced the recipients of the 2017 Alaska Literary Awards and Connie Boochever Fellowships.

Seven of the nine awardees have UAA ties and we'd like to take a moment to give them kudos. Please join UAA in congratulating the talented community members honored this year.

Alaska Literary Awards

Made possible by a generous donation from Peggy Shumaker and Joe Usibelli, the Alaska Literary Awards recognize and support writers across genres. Awards are determined based on the quality of the work submitted. This year's five winners, selected from a pool of 42 applicants, will each receive $5,000 awards.

Congratulations to three graduates of UAA's M.F.A. in Creative Writing program:

  • Vivian Faith Prescott, poet
  • Matthew Komatsu, creative nonfiction writer
  • Don Rearden, fiction writer (and associate professor in the UAA Department of College Preparatory & Developmental Studies)

The other two recipients are fiction writer Lily Tuzroyluke, who pursued a bachelor's degree at UAA, and screenwriter Mary Katzke, who worked at UAA for a semester.

Connie Boochever Fellows

Established by her family after her death, the Connie Boochever Fellowship honors and reflects the spirited passion of the arts Mrs. Boochever consistently demonstrated. Fellowships are awarded to emerging Alaska artists of exceptional talent. This year's four winners will each receive $2,500 fellowships.

Congratulations to UAA's own:

  • Ruby Jones, performance artist, who graduated from UAA with a B.F.A. in art and a minor in dance
  • Stephanie Wonchala, dancer and choreographer, who attended UAA as an undergraduate student and previously worked as an adjunct professor in the UAA Department of Theatre and Dance

The other two fellows are Christel Veraart, composer and musician, and Christy NaMee Eriksen, spoken word artist.


Learn more about the Alaska Literary Awards and Connie Boochever Fellowship at

Creative Commons License "UAA congratulates 2017 Alaska Literary Awardees and Connie Boochever Fellows" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.