Announcing the 2019 Community Engagement Forum Award winners

by Michelle Saport  |   

At the 10th annual Community Engagement Forum, the following faculty were recognized for their outstanding community-engaged work.

The 2019 Selkregg Community Engagement & Service Learning Award winners meet with members of the Selkregg family.

Selkregg Community Engagement & Service Learning Award The Selkreggs brought a commitment to openness, truth, democracy, and social justice to all of their work. This $5,000 award supports faculty in the development of community-engaged research, creative activity and academic service-learning projects.

Aisha Barnes, Department of Writing Community Partner: Anchorage Museum Project Name: Close-Looking: Building Skills for Writing and Observation with the Anchorage Museum

Michele Burdette-Taylor, School of Nursing Community Partner: Central Lutheran Church Project Name: Interprofessional Academic Service-Learning Student-Led Free Clinic

2019 Excellence in Community Engagement This is awarded to faculty in recognition of their integration of community-engaged teaching research and service within the community.

Travis Hedwig, Department of Health Sciences, was a 2018 national finalist for the Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement, which emphasizes community-engaged scholarly work across faculty roles. Dr. Hedwig builds community-engaged research projects into his curriculum and works with community-engaged students assistants to enhance his students' education.

2019 Community Engaged Writing Award The Community Engaged Writing Award is awarded to a faculty member who published an article, chapter, or book that exemplifies community-engaged scholarship.

Shannon Donovan, Department of Geography & Environmental Studies Article Title: Growing Gardens Sustainability: Challenges and Opportunities Facing the Strategic Expansion of Anchorage, Alaska's Community Garden System

2019 Community Builder Award The Community Builder Award is awarded to a faculty, staff, student, or community member who adds to the soul of the community by his or her examples of bold leadership.

Kathi Trawver, School of Social Work, was recognized for her many years of leadership in guiding efforts to address homelessness in Anchorage and beyond, including helping to develop Anchorage Project Homeless Connect and currently spearheading the Classroom-Based Survey of UAA Student Food and Housing Insecurity.

Creative Commons License "Announcing the 2019 Community Engagement Forum Award winners" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
May Archive