UAA alumna Sheri Baxter honored as International Forest of Friendship inductee

by Michelle Saport  |   

Dr. Sheri M. Baxter was honored as a 2019 inductee into the International Forest of Friendship, in Atchison, Kansas, a living, growing memorial to the world history of aviation and aerospace. She was sponsored by the Aviatrix Aerogram for her years of writing for the eZine. Sheri actively had a career in the skies in general aviation, military, and air transportation as an aircraft mechanic, pilot, and airline management for nearly two decades, and currently works for the Federal Aviation Administration.

[gallery link="file" columns="2" size="medium" ids="78433,78434"]

Baxter is a 1999 graduate of the University of Alaska Anchorage in the Public Administration Master's degree program. On graduation, Dr. Baxter was one of only six honor graduates from the class to receive the New Class of Leaders Award. While living in Alaska, Sheri worked in social services and founded a statewide non-profit organization supporting children with special needs and their families and received national and statewide recognition for her professional efforts.

Sheri has a master's and Ph.D. in public policy and continues her love of learning by taking online university classes and studying foreign languages. She regularly volunteers in the D.C. area and does an international volunteer trip each year. In her spare time, Sheri teaches flying trapeze and performs in circus shows.

[gallery columns="2" size="medium" link="file" ids="78436,78435"]

The International Forest of Friendship was a gift to America on the Nation's 200th birthday (1976) from the City of Atchison (Amelia Earhart's birthplace) and the Ninety-Nines, the International Organization of Women Pilots. It is made up of trees representing all the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 38 countries around the world, including a "moon tree" grown from a seed taken to the moon on Apollo 14 and a tree from President Washington's Mt. Vernon estate. Among the more than 1,500 honorees are such internationally recognized flyers as Amelia Earhart, Charles Lindbergh, the Wright Brothers, Sally Ride, Eileen Collins, and Chuck Yeager. Learn more about the forest at

Creative Commons License "UAA alumna Sheri Baxter honored as International Forest of Friendship inductee" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
December Archive