CCEL announces recipient of 2016 Second Bridge Scholarship Award

by Michelle Saport  |   

The Center for Community Engagement and Learning (CCEL) is pleased to announce Jana Lekanoff as the recipient of the 2016 Second Bridge Scholarship Award. Her faculty sponsor is Medeia Csoba DeHass, assistant professor of anthropology and Alaska Native studies.

Jana is an anthropology undergraduate student at UAA. Her project "Place Names of Unalaska Island" focuses on the numerous and changing place names for both water and terrestrial features on the landscape of Unalaska Island. The project involves assembling place names from the local Unangan language, Russian and English, and making this information available as a cultural resource online and to the Unangan people. Jana will travel to Unalaska to meet with community partners, collect oral histories and photograph sites of the landscape.

The Second Bridge Scholarship Award provides $1,000 to a student who has crossed a "first bridge" and now seeks to expand his or her understanding of cultures or local or global issues and push the boundaries of traditional education. CCEL matches the award for an additional $1,000.

Creative Commons License "CCEL announces recipient of 2016 Second Bridge Scholarship Award" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
February Archive