Congratulations to Chancellor's Awards and Affordable Course Materials Award winners

by Green & Gold News  |   

Chancellor Sandeen is proud to announce the winners of two award programs, Chancellor's Awards for Excellence and UAA/APU Consortium Library's Affordable Course Materials Award, for their outstanding work in support of student success and institutional excellence. Congratulations to all the recipients! Your dedication and excellence make this institution the amazing, vibrant hub of learning and community engagement that it is.

Chancellor's Awards recognize 26 employees across 10 categories

The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence recognize UAA employees for extraordinary work and dedication to our students and university community. Congratulations and thank you to this year's amazing group of winners. 

  • 2020 Chancellor's Awards for Excellence Recipients

    Excellence in Research and Creative Activities — Raymond Anthony, Department of Philosophy
    For outstanding and significant impact in a field of study and to UAA through research, engagement or creative activities.

    Community Engagement — Chad Farrell, Department of Sociology
    For outstanding contributions to the advancement of partnerships between the university and Alaska's communities.

    Excellence in Teaching — Roger Hull, Project Management Program
    For demonstrating exceptional commitment to advancing student achievement through excellence in teaching.

    Transformation and Change Agent — Aaron Dotson, Interim Vice Provost for Research; Director, Applied Environmental Research Center
    For making a significant and positive contribution toward support and implementation of a major organizational change.

    Promoting Student Achievement — D’Arcy Hutchings, UAA/APU Consortium Library
    For outstanding contributions to student achievement through innovative and creative approaches.

    Staff Excellence — Kim Morton, Student Life and Leadership
    For exercising leadership, initiative, outstanding teamwork capabilities that create a positive atmosphere, and consistently performs at a level above normal job requirements to advance the mission of the university.

    Diversity — Erin Hicks, Department of Physics and Astronomy, and Thomas Chung, Department of Art
    For outstanding contribution to the advancement of diversity of UAA students, staff and faculty through increasing the visibility and representation of diverse voices, creating an atmosphere of inclusiveness and community.

    Friend & Advocate — Dr. Alex Hills, College of Engineering
    For support of (other than financial) and advocacy for the university and its mission.

    Climate Change Impact — Libby Roderick, Center for Advancing Faculty Excellence
    For demonstrating outstanding commitment to reducing UAA's impact on the environment or increasing our understanding or the impacts of climate change through teaching, research or community service.

    Special Chancellor Team Award — Graduation Website (UAA Spring 2020 Graduation Day Celebration) Team
    For creating an outstanding alternative celebration for the Class of 2020 despite challenges posed by time constraints and social distancing mandates.

    • Tami Choquette, College of Engineering 
    • Cedar Cussins, Division of Performing & Fine Arts 
    • James Evans, University Advancement 
    • Chris Huston, ITS Web Applications 
    • Chad Solberg, ITS Web Applications 
    • Melanie Donhauser, Office of the Registrar 
    • Kirstin Olmstead, University Advancement
    • Austin Osborne, University Advancement 
    • Joe Nedland, University Advancement
    • Tanya Pont, Alumni Relations
    • Jennifer Wisel, Alumni Relations
    • Chelsea Avichayil, Alumni Relations
    • Mariah DeJesus-Remaklus, University Advancement
    • Matt Jardin, University Advancement
    • Michelle Saport, University Advancement
    • Catalina Myers, University Advancement

Nominations for the next cycle of Chancellor's Awards will open in spring 2021. More information, including lists of all previous recipients, is available at the Chancellor's Awards website.

Affordable Course Materials Award winners save students more than $150,000 over a semester

Keeping the cost of education affordable to UAA students is a core value of the university. Since textbooks and course materials can be expensive, the UAA/APU Consortium Library with its tradition of providing open access to information is pleased to sponsor the Affordable Course Materials Award. Since the high cost of education can be a barrier to student success, the use of affordable course materials is likely to improve the rate of student retention and degree completion at UAA.

During the spring semester, the Faculty Senate Library Advisory Committee solicited nominations and after the committee’s review selected 17 award winners. Their work demonstrated a sustained commitment to lowering the cost of class materials for their students. As a group, the award winners representing a variety of disciplines reduced the cost of education to UAA students over a single semester by a total of $150,609.

  • 2020 Affordable Course Materials Award Recipients

    The faculty members receiving the award are:

    • Douglass Bourne (English)
    • Alison Gardell (Biology)
    • Ian Hartman (History)
    • Veronica Howard (Psychology)
    • Wei-Ying Hsiao (Teaching and Learning)
    • D’Arcy Hutchings (Consortium Library)
    • Zeynep Kilic (Sociology)
    • Jeremy Nettleton (Biology)
    • Marsha Olson (Journalism and Communication)
    • Tara Palmer (ESL)
    • Jim Pantaleone (Physics & Astronomy)
    • Solveig Pedersen (Communication)
    • Michelle Scaman (Journalism and Communication)
    • Hilary Seitz (Early Childhood Education)
    • Janelle Sikorski (Geological Sciences)
    • Sarah Smith (ESL)
    • Corrie Whitmore (Health Sciences)

The Faculty Senate Library Advisory Committee is looking forward to receiving nominations next year in order to recognize more faculty members who are reducing the cost of education to UAA students.

Creative Commons License "Congratulations to Chancellor's Awards and Affordable Course Materials Award winners" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
May Archive