Coronavirus information

Visit the UA coronavirus information website to learn how the University of Alaska is responding to the novel coronavirus/COVID-19 situation and find links to communications, policy guidance and resources.

Faculty, Staff, and Advising

Hub Staff

Many administrative needs for the Department of Psychology are met through the College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences Hub located in SSB 352. The hub takes care of needs like: scheduling classrooms, faculty contracts, book orders, website management and student assistance. 

Contact the Social Science Hub

(907) 786-1665
3211 Providence Drive, SSB 352

Anchorage, Alaska 99508


Brea Darnell
Academic Advisor for the Social Sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences. 
Phone: (907) 786-1356
Office Location: NSB 233


The Department has twenty full-time faculty members and nine emeritus faculty. Please consult their web pages, at right, to learn about their teaching and research specializations.

Faculty in the Psychology Ph.D. Program in Clinical-Community Psychology (Drs. Buckingham, David, Dulin, and Gonzalez) are located on the 3rd floor of the Social Sciences Building (SSB suite 303). Most other Psychology faculty offices are located on the second floor of the Natural Sciences Building (NSB). 


The Psychology Department Director is Dr. Eric S. Murphy:

Dr. Eric S. Murphy
Director of the Psychology Department
Phone: (907) 786-1626
Office Location: NSB 222


Psychology Department Faculty

Robert Boeckmann
(907) 786-1793
NSB 232
Sara Buckingham
Assistant Professor 
(907) 786-1767
SSB 303F
E.J.R. David
(907) 786-6778
SSB 303H
Patrick Dulin
(907) 786-1653
SSB 303K
Gloria Eldridge
(907) 786-1623
NSB 221
Vivian Gonzalez
(907) 786-6779
SSB 303J
Hattie Harvey
Associate Professor 
(907) 786-4464
NSB 228
Veronica Howard
Assistant Professor 
(907) 786-6128
NSB 214
Maria Ippolito
(907) 786-1718
NSB 215
Phil Jordan
Term Professor 
(907) 786-1758
NSB 220
Claudia Lampman
Professor, Vice Provost for Student Success 
(907) 786-1619
ADM 211
Paul Landen
Affiliant Professor (KPC) 
(907) 262-0394
Gwen Lupfer
Associate Professor 
(907) 786-1722
NSB 224
Mychal Machado
Assistant Professor 
(907) 786-1625
NSB 218
Eric S. Murphy
Professor, Director of Psychology 
(907) 786-1626
SSB 222
Yasuhiro Ozuru
Associate Professor 
(907) 786-6036
NSB 233
John Petraitis
Professor, Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences 
(907) 786-1651
SSB 335
Patricia Sandberg
(907) 786-1636
NSB 219
Grant Sasse
Assistant Professor 
(907) 786-6314
SSB 255
Karen Ward
(907) 264-6229